The member's reports can be saved in two different ways. The menu items involved are:
Once you are happy with the report you have designed, it is best to save it, particularly where the report has been changed in the designer.
Where you specify a report, generate and use it, without saving, the ASE Scorer does remember that report next time you use the scorer. It remembers the specifications of the report. On the other hand if you ever open another report, then that report specifications will be lost, and the newly opened report becomes the current report.
Any report consists of two parts: the query (or gathering of the data) and the report. The report can be one that is generated from the current specifications or one that is designed with the designer. If you re-generate a report after it has been changed with the designer, you will lose those changes.
The reports found under the [Defaults] menu item are reports that are generated. They have not been changed with the designer. Only the specifications are saved, not the report. You can save any report specification under the [Save as default] actions menu [F4]. Such a report will be automatically re-generated from the specifications when you re-use it. The save as default option presents the screen:
The other way to save is to use the File/[Save] or [Save As] options. The [Save] option will save over the top of the current file, while the [Save as] option will allow you to save the report under a new name.
The file you save to will be of type .rpt (unless you use some other extension, but that is not recommended). This file will save away the specifications and the report. When the file is opened for re-use the report will not be re-generated. The report will be just as you left it last time, before the save. Any changes made in the designer will still be there.
It is important to understand that the query associated with the report is an integral part of the report. The query is part of the specifications.